iPod related deaths

There is an intense campaign running in Australia in response to the epidemic of teen deaths related to crossing the road while listening to iPods. Apparently, it is a really big deal there.

I first wondered if the jarring nature of the images was the only thing that caught my attention, or if there was something else under the surface. I think it’s both. They are visually arresting, impeccably designed, and they reference images we have seen before.

iPod outline

Iconic campaign

Time spent travelling taught me to be uncomfortable wearing headphones while walking about; I felt like they dulled an important awareness of my surroundings, and the visible chords made me a target of theft. I don’t know about you, but I don’t enjoy being snuck up on.

I’m not the norm though, especially among my generation and younger. My people are the ones trying to get your attention: the hi-vis-vest-wearing-worriers who want people to check left, then right, then left again before crossing the street (although I can look the other way in regards to jay-walking). This Australian campaign is from my people. It is disturbing, but I gather that’s the point.

What do you think? Do these images reference TBWA/Chiat/Day’s iconic iSilhouettesi campaign?

~Christie

(photos courtesy of ipodhistory.com and ibelieveinadv.com)

Leave a Reply

